Empowering Quotes from Empowering Women

Here we are at the 57th presidential election and oh my stars, a woman has been nominated.

Let me lay that down for you..a WOMAN is up for president. Regardless of what party you support or don’t support , you have to admit that a woman being nominated as the official presidential candidate for one of the major parties is a huge feat for gender equality.

Considering that the 19th amendment was ratified 96 years ago, I’d say we’ve come a long way since 1920.

I can only image what Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony would be doing if they were around.

So here’s some badass quotes from badass women to celebrate the occasion.

 

“Some of us are becoming the men we wanted to marry.” -Gloria Steinem

“Women need not always keep their mouths shut and their wombs open.” -Emma Goldman

“I do not wish women to have power over men; but over themselves.” -Mary Shelley

“Women have always been courageous… They are always fearless when protecting their children and in the last century they have been fearless in the fight for their rights.” -Isabel Allende

“When a man gives his opinion, he’s a man. When a woman gives her opinion, she’s a bitch.”―Bette Davis

“I’m tough, I’m ambitious, and I know exactly what I want. If that makes me a bitch, okay.” ― Madonna

“A woman without a man is like a fish without a bicycle.” ― Gloria Steinem

“I am too intelligent, too demanding, and too resourceful for anyone to be able to take charge of me entirely. No one knows me or loves me completely. I have only myself”
― Simone de Beauvoir

“There is no limit to what we, as women, can accomplish.” -Michelle Obama

“No country can ever truly flourish if it stifles the potential of its women and deprives itself of the contributions of half of its citizens.” -Michelle Obama (Yea, two from MO because our FLOTUS is a brilliant woman)

“A strong woman understands that the gifts such as logic, decisiveness, and strength are just as feminine as intuition and emotional connection. She values and uses all of her gifts.” —Nancy Rathburn

“A woman is like a tea bag – you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

“We need to reshape our own perception of how we view ourselves. We have to step up as women and take the lead.”—Beyoncé

“I am a Woman. Phenomenally. Phenomenal Woman, that’s me.” ― Maya Angelou

“I think the girl who is able to earn her own living and pay her own way should be as happy as anybody on earth. The sense of independence and security is very sweet.”
― Susan B. Anthony

“Of course I am not worried about intimidating men. The type of man who will be intimidated by me is exactly the type of man I have no interest in.”―Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

“As a girl, you’re supposed to love Sleeping Beauty. I mean, who wants to love Sleeping Beauty when you can be Aladdin?” – Ellen Page

“The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries or the way she combs her hair.” – Audrey Hepburn

“There is no female mind. The brain is not an organ of sex. As well speak of a female liver.” ― Charlotte Perkins Gilman

 

 

There you go. Some quotes that will leave you saying.gif

Stay Classy,

SM

 

Leave a Reply

