Saying No Saved My Sanity

“Be a ‘Yes-Man'”

This has always been my motto. Always say yes when presented with an opportunity. Always say yes when given a challenge. No exceptions. Always.

And, in true over-dedicated fashion, I have held true to my motto. And I’ve generally always been able to accomplish the things I set out to do.

But saying yes to opportunities occasionally correlated with saying yes to struggles–some which I would rather do without.

“Whoa, Savannah, are you saying we shouldn’t struggle?” That’s NOT what I’m saying at all. Struggle is good. It’s constructive, and it makes you appreciate what you’ve completed and overcome.

But I was saying yes to EVERYTHING. I said yes to the right things, but I also said yes to the wrong ones. And when I did, I also said yes to the negative repercussions.

I said yes to anxiety. I said yes to pointless stress. I said yes to negativity. I said yes to losing my spark. When I was saying yes to all the wrong things, I was agreeing to compromise a part of myself in order to fulfill these requests.

So, one day, I took a gamble and said no. Man, what a relief it was (after I got over the guilt, naturally, because I’m far from perfect). I felt no obligation to do something I truly didn’t want to and something that would not catapult me forward in reaching my goals or even achieving happiness.

Now, I still hold true to being the yes-woman that I am, but within means.

Not every situation is right for you, and I’ve learned this the hard way. If you’re saying yes to all the wrong things, how can you make time to say yes to the right ones?

Just like love or friendships, not everything is compatible. You can’t do or fix it all, so put your energy and focus into the things you can.

Take chances. Challenge yourself. Push yourself. But make it meaningful.

Stay classy,

SM

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Natalie says:

    This is so true – when you say yes to everything, you set yourself up for failure. It took me a long time to figure that out!

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

