Bye Felicia: An Ode to 2015

2015, it’s been fun, but it’s time to go.

What a year, am I right?

For me, 2015 was simultaneously the best and worst year of my life. So, let me chronicle it for you.

I rang in the new year with some awesome people

Boarding school friends are the best friends. They’re family.

NY

I was left alone…but I gained my independence

In the beginning of the year, I had a huge shift in my lifestyle. The person I spent the majority of my time with left for another country that had slim to no way of communicating with the outside world. Hello, independent Sav, it’s great to meet you.

JohnPopeQuote.jpg

I got to spend a lot of quality time with some of my favorite people

You boys kept me sane. Much love.

11150476_10153554439277203_148112291634895791_n

I put a few more holes in my body

I think that makes 9 holes in my head now.

pierce

I chopped off my long locks

A new stage in my life is always a good excuse for a new style.

hair.jpg

 

I won some awesome awards

This was humbling for sure. A HUGE thank you to all the people who helped me achieve these goals I never knew I had.

 

I became an aunt to a precious baby boy

Carson Maddox McKinney. March 16, 2015. Forever my favorite guy.

I graduated college

And what a feat that was. Blood, sweat, and a lot of tears went into earning that piece of paper (that is still not framed).

grad

 

I traveled to New Zealand

Yo, land down under the land down under, thanks for giving me the best post-graduation trip ever.

I bungee jumped

Easily one of my favorite life experiences. That combination of exhilaration, fear, and excitement will be hard to beat.

 

I had the hardest summer of my life

Anxiety, you sneaky little bastard. Surviving was honestly a challenge. It was the most difficult thing I’ve had to go through, but I am stronger for it.

(P.S. thanks to all the rad people who helped ya girl out. Also, hospitals and doctors suck. So try and find a good one.)

Check out my post on GAD here

 

My family fell apart 

No need to elaborate on this one. It is what it is.

(Previous ramblings on this topic: Lost in the Abyss | Raising Parents)

I got rid of toxic people

Many years down. None to go. Life changes are scary, but you must ultimately do what’s best for you.

giphy.0

I got my own place

And acquired a lovely roommate. Who better to live with than one of your best friends?

kn

My sweet niece turned FOUR

I will never get over how precious this girl is. I love her and her brother more than words can express.

au

My best friend(s) got married

Ann Marie (Russ) Carney and Carmen Nicole (Lozano) Spencer. I wish you two ladies nothing but happiness. And remember, if those men give you problems, you know who to call.

 

 

Found a cute Ginger

And I’m pretty sure he even has a soul! Can you believe I snagged THE Jordan Gowen? *swoon*

ging.jpg

I got two tattoos

Okay, so I’m not an upstanding adult just yet. I still spend my money on spontaneous tattoos. But, hey, I love them.

I began my true bucket list

and knocked a few things off already. I’ll keep you guys posted on new happenings.

one

I started my first Big Girl job

Whoa, full-time and salary? Is this the first step in adulting? I’m cool with it. It is most definitely a life shift, but I am overjoyed to have a job in my field immediately after graduating.

I reverted to middle school and got braces

Hello, braceface. This sucks, but I’m pretty stoked to eventually have the straight teeth I’ve always wanted.

 

So cheers to you, 2015. Although you were pretty amazing at times, I must say I am ready to see our love/hate relationship end.

Wishing you all a Happy New Year. Bring it on, 2016.

Stay Classy,

SM

Leave a Reply

