Addiction is Real

September 8, 2011   |   March 16, 2015

These are the days my addictions began.

Meet Aubree Annalynn and Carson Maddox…AKA the loves of my life.

aubscars

I’ve never had much of an addictive personality, but who couldn’t be obsessed with these munchkins?

Until 2 weeks ago, I have lived with these precious babies since the days they were born.

Some people may think that it’s odd to be so close to my family, but I think of it as a blessing. I am one of four kids–JaAnna (24), Me (22), Jansen (19), and Tristen (16).

JaAnna, 18 months my senior, is the mother of these two precious babies. I was there when both of them were born. I was the first to hold Aubree and hand her to her mother. I was given the honor of cutting Carson’s umbilical chord. Tears were shed when both of them were born, and my life has been forever changed.

While I don several different names from friends and family (Savannah, Sev, Savy, Sav, Isis), my favorite people call me Aunt Namma. 

Being an aunt is simply amazing. It has changed me in so many positive ways, and for that I am forever indebted to these beautiful children.

I am more patient.

Crying, drool, and dirty diapers might have used to make me cringe; however, four years after I heard the first cry of my niece, I can honestly say these rarely bother me. Getting my hair pulled is actually cute because I know they just want to be close to me. Small things don’t bother me anymore because I now see the big picture and have learned that there are things vastly more important than being impatient over small occurrences.

It has taught me humility.

There are more important things in life than one’s self. If your niece asks you to hold her while she watches Frozen for the 600th time, you put down your work and you do it. I am completely and utterly aware that I am a handful sometimes, but these kids bring me down a notch. Their beauty and love has humbled me beyond words.

11825591_10153759174097203_2263647010758224245_n

I have practice in motherhood.

Fixing bottles, kissing boo-boo’s, wrestling a toddler into choosing an outfit that actually matches AND pleases her? I got this. I have done the midnight feedings and the dirty diapers. I have struggled with a picky eater who thinks that the only three edible items are blueberries, chicken nuggets, and junk food…with ranch on everything. I can take a baby from level 100 crying and screaming to fast and peacefully asleep in minutes. Strapping in two carseats and making sure the toddler doesn’t run away while I’m getting the baby in and out of the car? Mastered that one. Discipline isn’t the most fun thing to do, but I have learned the good, the bad, and the ugly ways to do it. Of course when I have children there will be hundreds of other things to learn, but I am thankful to have gotten a glimpse into what motherhood is like.

11885105_10153806311327203_6754937638788634080_n

I know how to play. 

Free time? Please. Adventure time is a must. If you haven’t rolled down a hill, slid down a slide, or played in the mud after a rainstorm in years, then you’re missing out. I helped teach Aubree how to swim and ride her bike, and Carson is currently learning how to crawl, so we spend a lot of time in the floor surrounded by toys that squeak and rattle. I can put down my electronics and get lost in the world of princesses and baby dolls for hours, simply because it makes Aubree happy. I have rediscovered my inner child, and it’s amazing.

11825023_10153759287277203_6170146981445564588_n

I’ve relearned what innocence is. 

You never realize when your innocence is leaving you. It happens slowly, and then one day you wake up and you’re a defected adult. Being around these children has truly taught me that there is still beautiful innocence in the world. From the silly questions to the sweet kisses, I have relearned innocence. It has made me rethink what I say, watch, and do, especially around them. These kids have yet to learn what a filter is, so they give it to you straight. They are honest, adorable, and we can all take a lesson from their virtue.

2

I have truly learned what unconditional love is.

To say I love my niece and nephew would be an understatement. I am obsessed, enthralled, and unconditionally in love with them. They can do no wrong (even when they are acting like little brats). I won’t let anyone ever hurt them. And if by some random chance something slips by, beware the wrath of this crazy aunt. Over-protective? Maybe. But they deserve the best out of life. Even when they fail (which is inevitable, because we all do), I will help them pick up the pieces. I want to see them thrive and do much bigger things than I will ever be capable of. Their beauty is radiant, and I know they will be absolutely brilliant.

12039299_10153873102682203_2496676280791253292_n

So there it is. My addictions.

Send me to rehab, but I don’t plan on ever quitting.

Stay Classy,

SM

Leave a Reply

