Why My Quarter-Life Crisis is the Best Thing to Ever Happen to Me

I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22….and stressed out, and timid, and excited, and confused, and super happy to be a hot mess.

Why? Because I’m in the “real world” now. You know. Where you pay every single bill without any help from good ol’ mom and dad. Where you think independence is the best thing to happen to you since sliced bread. Where you are dancing around every night because you don’t have a single piece of homework or required reading. Where you randomly get anxiety because you haven’t gotten your dream job, and you don’t have your ish together.

This is what I call my Quarter-Life Crisis..and it will probably last for a bit. 

tumblr_ndxnvnqStC1rbc9h1o1_400

I’ve learned to accept all the emotions that have come on this roller coaster called life. I’ve started doing what I feel like doing in the moment that I feel like doing it. This is not to say I make rushed decisions without thinking of every possible outcome (because i’m a chronic over thinker, naturally). Yet, it does mean that I make decisions now that I may not make in 5 years. Because I’m 22 and I can do that. Everyday is not going to be a happy day, but why hinder yourself from a moment that could be one of the best memories written in your story?

This is the time where I am allowed to take a breather and figure out what I want to do with my life. Or, if I’m feeling pressured, I can just think about the next book I want to read, or the next outfit I want to buy. I can, dare I say it, RELAX–no it’s not a dirty word, and you should definitely try it. I can binge watch a show on Netflix without feeling guilty (and also “Netflix and Chill” if I feel like it). If I want to eat an entire pizza, then I can do that too! I’m also allowed to have a breakdown every once in a while if I want.

I’m learning that very few (if any) people my age have their futures figured out. And who in their right mind would?! If I want the same things at 30+ that I do at 22, then I surely will have lived my 20s wrong. People evolve, and that is HEALTHY! This is my time to explore and wander and spend more money than I should on trips and wine and clothes. 

I only get to live my 20s once, so I might as well take advantage of it.

Stay Classy,

SM

Leave a Reply

