Things I’ve Done on a Whim That I Don’t Regret

If you’re anything like me, you tend to over-think absolutely everything. This may mean spending two hours trying to choose an outfit for the day (while simultaneously trashing your entire room), or retyping a text message ten times just to make sure your sarcasm is reflected properly.

There is something to be said about being spontaneous. And, yes, even I have my moments.

Things I’ve done on a whim that I will never regret…

Permanently Marked Myself

You know. Those things grandmother’s call mistakes, and I call tattoos? Yea. I’ve gotten three, and I love every single one of them. Would I get the same thing now that I did at 18? Probably not. But that was who I was at 18. And last I remember, 18-year-old Sav thought she was quite the badass.

c2988e168d37987bd9a5a4631176fce3

Put Needles Through my Skin

Calm done. I’m not a self-mutilator. I just like piercings. I have 8 in my ears and 1 in my lip. And I’ll probably get more. These, unlike tattoos, can be taken out when I need to not look like a hoodlum.

tumblr_n9fxduxg3Q1qj4315o1_500

Hopped on a Plane to the Most Heavily Populated Place on Earth

“Hey, wanna go to China?”  Sure! Why not? I’ve never been on a plane. I don’t speak the language. What could possibly go wrong? That being said, this was one of the most enriching experiences of my life. If you ever have the chance to travel to China, please go.

11043180_10153444744512203_5396783613976200934_n

Fallen in Love with the “Man of My Dreams”…

I don’t love often, but, man, when I do, I love hard. There are few things in life better than thinking you have found the one who makes your soul sing. It’s suddenly ok to put your guard down and let them into your heart. Getting all sappy and sweet in public or private makes no difference. Why? Because you are completely enthralled with being in each other’s presence.

giphy

…And Fell Out When I Realized He Wasn’t

Then one day, you just wake up and realize that you were kidding yourself. This person is not the person for you, and that’s OK. Yea, it sucks to hurt someone, but it sucks even more to spend the rest of your life with Mr. Wrong. It also hurts less if that someone happens to be a jerk. This is one time in life that it’s definitely ok to be selfish.

giphy-2

Traveled to the Land Down Under the Land Down Under

“Hey, want to go to New Zealand?” Well, I’ve already dropped thousands of dollars on a trip to China, so sure, why not? Again, GO TO NEW ZEALAND. It’s breathtakingly beautiful. Warning: You won’t want to come home.

AJH-KB-20150523-011-001-0002-Cam02

Jumped off a Bridge 

No, not my bungee jumping experience (which was absolutely amazing). This time I was 17 on an old railroad bridge over some dirty river water with a group of crazy boys. Probably not my smartest move, but, hey, it’s a fun story to tell.

giphy-3

Said Goodbye to my Blonde Hair…

Born and raised a dirty blonde. Then one night around midnight I just decided I wanted to be brunette. One late night trip to Walmart with my BFF and a box of hair dye later, my journey to change began.

giphy-4

…And my Long Locks

I chopped off my hair. And I cried. But I loved it.

marshall-shaves-his-head-o

Danced in the Streets of Mexico

Just my built in best-friend (AKA my sister) and me taking on Spring Break in Mexico with our family. If someone gives you maracas during a parade at sunset, you dance. No questions asked.

giphy-5

Visited my Long-Distance BFF

The true love of my life is my best friend. So what if she lived 9 hours away? I hopped right in my car so that I could spend her 22nd birthday with her. We definitely had a memorable weekend, and time spent with my Julie is never time regretted.

10308222_10153588808567203_5303348997944108369_n

Sang Taylor Swift Karaoke in front of a crowded bar with no shame in my doppelgänger game

I’m not exactly the most outgoing person in front of a crowd, and I DEFINITELY do not have the voice of an angel. But when everyone is telling you that you look like TSwift, it’s only right to hop onstage at the karaoke bar and belt out a setlist of her songs.

giphy-6

So, if you feel like doing something, just do it.

Stay Classy,

Savannah M.

Leave a Reply

